Bills Troughs in Queensland.

The only evidence of the generosity of George Bill when he set up the Bills Trust to supply free of charge water troughs in Queensland is this brass plaque Dated 1930
This photo was sent to me long ago by a real-estate Agent from Maryborough Qld .

He was seeking more information from me about George Bills .
He told me that the plaque was from a old water trough which was falling apart on a cattle station he was going to conduct a clearance sale on property. .
Also said there was two troughs one each side of the bridge which crossed the Mary river in Graville Maryborough Queensland.
Back in the 1900es when they build bridges over rivers they were designed to be very low flat types this was to ease the strain put on horse drawn carts so they could cross easier.
Has anyone ever heard of any other Bills Trough in Queensland ?
Your feed back would be appreciated Cheers George Gemmill.or emia lto. billshorsetroughs@hotmail.com

About Bills Horse Troughs

Collecting information about George Bills has been me hobby for over 35 years now and finding locations for the water troughs he supplied .My collection is now over 300 of where these troughs can still be seen. I ask anyone who sights any of these Troughs if you would please forward me a photo to billhorsetroughs@ hotmail .com . Always willing to share any information I have .cheers George
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment